the taste of spring

when I was growing up in the country, my parents had a huge asparagus patch (still do, in fact). I never could get enough of it, even when it grew faster than we could eat it; I remember seeing huge, plastic Big Gulp cups sitting on the top fridge of the refrigerator, full of asparagus spears (you couldn’t see past that forest of green!). Fortunately, my brothers hated asparagus, and that was one food issue that Mom, Dad, and I wholly encouraged — there was more for us, that way!

Yesterday, I came home from the grocery store with two bundles of this, which made me go weak in the knees when I saw them:

bliss in a jar

and had this, last night:

april asparagus

I had never had asparagus this way before, but when I saw the slender green stalks at the grocery store, my mouth started watering, thinking of them cooked like this. And I can’t take credie for this, because I really had hardly anything to do; it was all because of the asparagus. It can take the credit.

Roasted Asparagus with Garlic

fresh asparagus
garlic cloves
olive oil
salt + pepper

Wash and trim as many stalks of asparagus as you will eat. the way I trim asparagus: using a sharp knife, slice a chunk off the end of the stalk; if there was much resistance at all, lay your blade into the asparagus a little further up; I usually check in about half-centimeter increments. when the knife slides through the asparagus like butter, you’ve gotten rid of the chewy, stringy, woody part.

halve a clove or two of garlic, then slice it very thinly.

Pour a little olive oil (about 2 teaspoons) in a fry-pan that is big enough to comfortably accomodate the whole length of the asparagus.
Turn your stove on to medium / medium-high heat.
Toss in the garlic, and wait a few minutes for it to turn a light golden-brown – but be careful not to burn it. Slide in your asparagus, sprinkle on a little salt and pepper, and cook for a few minutes until bright green and tender, constantly moving them around the pan.
Gather the asparagus spears together onto a plate, and be sure to get any little bits of garlic out of the pan, they’re delicious.

Serves one.

3 Responses to “the taste of spring”


  1. 1 Anile April 7, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Yummm I love asparagus! My husband hates it – more for me! I usually quickly drop them in some simmering water, I’m going to try your technique on the bunch that I bought yesterday! Thanks!

  2. 2 kimberley April 8, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Yum! My whole family loves asparagus – and I’m heartily jealous that you could grow your own. Now I’m wondering if it’s difficult and suitable for my climate… The recipe looks so good. Garlic and asparagus, I don’t think you can go wrong!

  3. 3 lemoineau April 10, 2009 at 6:08 am

    Anile, I hope you like it! I made it asparagus again this way last night, per John’s request. :)

    kimberley, raising asparagus is really really easy! the only trick is that they need nutrient-rich soil; my parents’ asparagus (asparaguses? asparagi?) were planted in what used to be part of a pasture, which was, thanks to the horses, very rich in organic matter. And all we ever had to do in addition to that was water them — and I think sometimes we didn’t even do that! They can take a lot of neglect. Just be sure to pick the new spears every day, or they will get very tall (sometimes 4-6 feet!)and frondy and go to seed.


Leave a Reply

RSS all a-twitter!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

older >>

on flickr

IMG_20141102_165333

Coming April 1st!

cherry tomato season is in full swing!

More Photos

