enjoying

I just got home from work, kicked off my (very cute, very uncomfortable) shoes, and flung all the windows open to welcome the warm breeze. This is such a drastic difference from even two days ago, when the high still had a windchill of below zero, that I think everyone here is a bit shell-shocked. It even smells like Spring today.

cook's + diner's dictionary

Lately, I’ve been curling up with this book, which I found at Goodwill for under a dollar a few weeks ago. It’s very theraputic for me; I’ve always loved dictionaries, and if I need to relax for a bit, I sit down and read a few entries here and there. It’s full of little line drawings of various kitchen implements and vegetables, and on the page opposite the entry about the significance of the Bordeaux region in France, it includes a full-page map of the area:

bordeaux

I’ve also been picking my way through a few vegetarian cookbooks (I’ve been uninspired about main courses recently, and need a little kick in the pants), and Bette Hagman’s The Gluten-Free Gourmet Makes Dessert. Instead of dogearing pages, as these are all books I got through Inter-Library Loan, I’ve been making a list of recipes that I want to make – and, judging by how long this list is growing, am rapidly discovering that this book, at least, is one that I should purchase, one that would definitely be worth the money.

Another book I would love to own a copy of – and I haven’t even read it yet – is A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg (of Orangette, one of my very favorite blogs — food or otherwise).

And, of course, there’s always Jamie Oliver. Sigh! If only I could afford all of his books!

What about you? Have you found any good cookbooks lately, or do you have any old favorites?

3 Responses to “enjoying”


  1. 1 Neighbor Nancy March 5, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Well, they are not gluten-free but,

    Little House Cookbook inspired by Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House series always led to many an adventurous afternoon while I was growing up
    and
    Betty Crocker’s Picture Cook Book published in 1956. What I like is there is a “key” recipe followed by a bunch of variations. I used to like to try the key and every version just for fun.

  2. 2 lemoineau March 6, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    thank you for your comment, Neighbor Nancy!

    I love the Little House books, but have never seen the cookbook. I did grow up using my mom’s Betty Crocker cookbook, and actually inherited my grandmother’s copy from the 60’s – and I definitely remember loving all the different possibilities for each recipe in the variations!

    I can’t believe I neglected to mention this one, but Susan Herrmann Loomis’ On Rue Tatin is another of my favourites; it’s more of a memoir, but has recipes, as well. It’s just an absolutely beautiful book about moving to and living in France.

  3. 3 Neighbor Nancy March 6, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    I love a cookbook that is more than a cookbook.
    My copy of “Like Water for Chocolate” has fascinating recipes between the chapters.


Leave a Reply

RSS all a-twitter!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

older >>

on flickr

IMG_20141102_165333

Coming April 1st!

cherry tomato season is in full swing!

More Photos

