saturday night beans

as I promised myself, I did make the Amateur Gourmet’s bodega beans last night. I used the recipe as a basic outline (key points: some kind of white beans, onion and garlic, olive oil, some sort of cheese), used whatever I had in my refrigerator, and ended up with this.

saturday night beans

Warm, creamy, cheesy, and flavorful, it was delicious today, as well, and the only thing I would change would be to soak dried beans overnight, rather than use canned, merely for textural reasons.

Saturday Night Beans:
(with a tip of the hat and many thanks to the amateur gourmet)

30 oz of Great Northern beans (2 cans’ worth)
1 medium onion
2 cloves of garlic
1/2 a medium red pepper
1/2 cup shredded carrots
1/2 cup frozen green peas
Olive oil
red pepper flakes
Italian blend of shredded cheese (parmesan, mozzarella, pecorino romano, etc.)

Add a healthy glug of olive oil to a heavy-bottomed sauce pan; turn on your stove to an easy medium heat. Mince the garlic and chop the onion, and add them to the pan, along with a few shakes of red pepper flakes. Sautée until the onions are nearly translucent, then add in chopped red bell pepper and the peas. Stir.

Drain and rinse the beans, then add them to the pan as well, along with a little more olive oil. When the beans are heated through, sprinkle in however much cheese you would like, and mix until the cheese is melted. Salt and pepper to taste, and serve warm. Especially good when topped with a little more cheese and served alongside a piece of bread straight from the oven.

saturday night beans

3 Responses to “saturday night beans”


  1. 1 Kate February 9, 2009 at 5:00 am

    It’s so pretty!

  2. 2 kimtori February 12, 2009 at 6:48 am

    Yum. I have to admit, I’m a huge fan of canned beans. I’ve tried dried every so often, but always seem to come back to canned as opposed to the organisation of soaking and boiling. Plus then I don’t worry that I haven’t cooked them properly!

    That does look so yummy though. Next time I cook warm beans, I’ll have to try this.

  3. 3 lemoineau February 16, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Thank you!

    It was really yummy – wonderful comfort food. For me, beans are an acquired taste (more like an acquired texture), but this definitely is swaying me towards being fond of beans. I do like black beans – I think that perhaps I’m merely not a fan of large beans – lima, kidney, etc.


Leave a Reply

RSS all a-twitter!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

older >>

on flickr

IMG_20141102_165333

Coming April 1st!

cherry tomato season is in full swing!

More Photos

