running

a quick question for anyone who reads this, but particularly you crazy runners out there. I want to start running. There are mornings when I wake up and imagine pulling on a sweatshirt and pounding down the pavement. However, every time I’ve done this in the past (outside; not on a treadmill), I end up with massive shinsplints. I stretch, I warm up, and yet I end up with cripplingly bad shinsplints. This only happens when I run on pavement; I’m fine on a treadmill.

What would you do? how did you get started running?

ps, I have good running shoes, so I don’t think that’s the problem.

9 Responses to “running”


  1. 1 James December 5, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    You might try building slowly. Start with shorter walks, then longer walks, then faster walks, then short jogs alternated with walks, then short runs, then longer runs, then faster long runs. Gradual progress is key in my opinion.

  2. 2 Brian December 6, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    I just kept doing it until it quit hurting. I got shin splints for a month or so but eventually they went away (buying different shoes may have helped, too). When they hurt really badly I’d stop, and then just try again the next day.

    My shins don’t really hurt anymore. It stopped and just never happened again.

  3. 3 Brian December 6, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Also, make sure you’re on fairly level ground. Mine seemed to be worse when I was running on a slope.

  4. 4 kimtori December 6, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    I can’t help you there, as I don’t run. The only exercise I ever did was ballet and dance, and now I don’t do that I’m a slob. I try to walk or jog, but lack the motivation. The gradual process sounds like a good idea.

  5. 5 Jen December 7, 2008 at 10:36 am

    The only thing I imagine in the morning is a cup of hot coffee…

  6. 6 Chera December 7, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    I second what Jen said. You morning people are crazy! ;-)

  7. 7 dänika December 10, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Thanks, people!

    James, that sounds like a good idea; John and I do go for walks nearly every day, though, and we work out in addition to that, too. So it’s not as though the muscles haven’t been used (or are lying dormant ;) ); it’s just the change from the treadmill or elliptical to the pavement that gets me each time. so, unfortunately, I might have to just try the Brian way, as painful as it sounds!

    I’m lacking a bit of motivation, too, Kim; especially as it’s getting darker outside even earlier in the evening now, and colder. By the time I get home from work, it’s been dark out for almost two hours! ugh!

    haha, Jen. Coffee is for the weak. ;) (kidding!!)

  8. 8 Heidi December 12, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    pavement hurts my knees really bad (ive got yucky no good knees for a young person), so i stick to the happy treadmill –
    but if you do stick it out you will get used to it as far as shinsplints go, and it wont hurt anymore (at least for me thats how it worked)

  9. 9 Court December 13, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Well, basically, constant running on pavement or concrete is simply very hard on your body. There’s no give at all. It does put another meaning on ‘pounding the pavement’.

    From what I’ve heard, it seems that you’re almost guaranteed foot/ankle/knee/leg problems in the future if you make a habit of running frequently on pavement or concrete surfaces. I suppose your body can get used to a lot of it, and good shoes can mitigate a lot, but it’s still very hard on you.

    I’ve never had shinsplints or other obvious problems when running. But I also try to run on dirt or grass whenever possible.


Leave a Reply

RSS all a-twitter!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

older >>

on flickr

IMG_20141102_165333

Coming April 1st!

cherry tomato season is in full swing!

More Photos

