bundling up

Oh, folks.  I started out by saying how I had visions of writing at least twice a week (because really, how hard could that be?).  And now it’s been a week since I last wrote.  Oh,  I disappoint myself sometimes. 

After coming off the high from the election (so, so exciting!!), I’ve been too busy coping with the recent freezing weather, preparing to hibernate, filling up on homemade soups and breads, and following John around as he cranks every floorboard heater up to the highest; so that I can then, immediately, turn it down from the breath-of-hell 7 down to the more reasonable 4, otherwise we wake up at 2 AM, all sweaty and limp from the sort of temperature that we haven’t felt the likes of since the beginning of August.  You know, the heat spell wherein all the crops shriveled up and the Earth was baked by the sun until cracks and fissures formed?  Yes.  That.   I think John was meant to live on a tropical island where the temperature never dips below 85; I, however, was destined to be cold-blooded sort who hates anything over 70, and should be making lutefisk somewhere in a shanty on the Nordic coast.

Along with the cold weather came the realization that I am in desperate need of winterish shoes.  As of this evening, I am the proud owner of these (which also support the theory that the more adorable the shoes, the more painful they are to wear), and have slipped in the kitchen no fewer than three times. I’m trying to break them in before I wear them to work – I can see myself slipping across the Italian marble tile in the lobby and breaking an ankle, before plunging down the spiral staircase. Not the best way to go, but at least my feet will look cute. (Priorities: In order.)

All this winterish air makes me sentimental and cozy. Is November 10th too early to break out the Christmas music?

P.S. I cut bangs yesterday. Proof:
bangs

Trying to get that picture also showed me how many odd expressions I make when a camera is in front of my face. Yikes!

5 Responses to “bundling up”


  1. 1 Kate November 11, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    My personal rule is this: No Christmas music until November 1. From there on out, it’s totally in season!

  2. 2 lemoineau November 11, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    That’s good to hear, Kate. In years past, I’d tried to hold off until Thanksgiving…I just couldn’t wait until then this year! Starting on Sunday, we’ve brought out our trusty Bing Crosby CD, and 2 choral CDs of Christmas carols.

    All this caroling makes me want to bake…

  3. 3 kimtori November 11, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Hmmm. Maybe you should send John to Australia over summer. Kind of like migrating South over the winter. It’s hot here now, I think it was 36 degrees today (celcius – I’m sorry, I have no idea what the conversion is). Of course, the have the air conditioner so cold inside the university that I wished I’d brought a jumper. But that’s another story. I’m quite jealous of your soup-weather though.

    The bangs are cute, and so are the shoes and your priorities! With heels like that, I can imagine you wanting to break them in.

    Enjoy the baking if it eventuates!

  4. 4 Jen November 12, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I’m a Scrooge and think Christmas music/Christmas trees/christmas decorations/cookies/presents have no place until 2 weeks before Christmas. Until then I avoid department stores and malls like the plague, plug my ears when I hear the music, and wildly flip through the channels trying to avoid the commercials.
    There is a station around here that plays nothing but Christmas music beginning November 1st. AHHH!HH!!!HH!!HAAAHH!

  5. 5 Angela November 15, 2008 at 4:09 am

    I’m the opposite. I’m ALWAYS freezing. (Except when we had 6+ months of 110F weather here.)

    And those shoes would absolutely kill my feet. I refuse to sacrifice my feet for fashion. Which would explain why I often wear ugly shoes. :) I do love these, however: http://www.dansko.com/flash_fw08.aspx#detail,Tara,Left%20Bank,2


Leave a Reply

RSS all a-twitter!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

older >>

on flickr

IMG_20141102_165333

Coming April 1st!

cherry tomato season is in full swing!

More Photos

