things I have been doing instead of blogging

 

+  making a loaf of “faux”coccia bread

+  taking splendidly long, rambly walks around the neighbourhoods together, picking up leaves and other little treasures, talking to all the dogs and cats (and children) we inevitably encounter

+  knitting two pairs of fingerless mittens, as seen below: 

 

+  spending vast amounts of time staring out the window, entranced by the late-autumn sunlight filtering through the beautiful leaves

+  listening to Ethiopia: African funk, soul, + swing from Addis Ababa

+  fallifying our house, cleaning and cleaning, burning fall-scented candles (oh Ginger Pumpkin, you make me hungry all the time)

+  daydreaming about moving to Maine

+  spending time on etsy, specifically here and here

+ enjoying the brighter mornings, now that we’ve fallen back

+ attempting to dye a shirt with coffee; having disastrous results (thank goodness I wasn’t attached to the shirt in the first place)

+ collecting and drying more leaves than I’ll ever, ever do something with – I can’t help it; they’re beautiful

+ adding some visual interest to the wall above the desk in the studio (odd cropping due to the fact that the desk itself is currently quite disorganized) :

 

what have you done lately? how are you filling your days?

6 Responses to “things I have been doing instead of blogging”


  1. 1 summer picnic November 3, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I’m also daydreaming about moving to Maine, curbing my addiction to Etsy, and fallifying the house (love that phrase)–also, making chili with every conceivable topping and gorging on cider donuts. Oh, and enjoying your blog! It’s a treat.

  2. 2 lemoineau November 3, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Thank you and hello!

    I just checked out your blog – I can see that it’s definitely one I’ll have to bookmark and check back with frequently, if you don’t mind.

    I agree with the chili – we just made a kettle of chili here this afternoon, so – right on!

    Also, I have never heard of cider donuts, but they sound dreamy.

  3. 3 Kate November 3, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    I wish I could knit. I like your mittens. If I could knit, I’d knit some just like those and a hat, too. I love homemade hats.

  4. 4 kimtori November 4, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    I love those mitts. The blue colour is so vibrant. Fingerless mitts is the one thing I’ve never knit but always wanted to. They’d be so cosy driving on a cold morning, and fingerless means your hands can still grip the steering wheel so you’re not incredibly dangerous. Seeing yours inspires me to knit some before the next winter around here…

    I’ve been filling my days with engagement party preparation and cleanup, study, and nowhere near enough knitting or reading blogs.

    And the very mention of chilli makes me want some.

  5. 5 trupeach November 5, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    first, i love your fingerless mittens & thanks for visiting my blog!

    i’m not sure if i’m related to everardus and anneke jans bogardus. i know the name is on my dad’s side of the family. i’ll have to do some digging over the holidays.

  6. 6 lemoineau November 11, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Kimberley, those gloves would knit up so quickly for you! It takes me a couple of days (if I spend my evenings knitting), but I’m sure you would be faster. :)

    Engagement party preparation! That’s such an exciting time. Congratulations! :)

    Hi Peachy, thank you! I’d be interested to see if you are related to them; I’d never come across anyone else by that name before, other than my relatives! :)


Leave a Reply

RSS all a-twitter!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

older >>

on flickr

IMG_20141102_165333

Coming April 1st!

cherry tomato season is in full swing!

More Photos

