canonet

when my parents came here today (they’re asleep upstairs right now – they hit the road at 4:30 this morning!), they brought me this on an indefinite loan.  Oh, how excited am i?!  They’ve had this camera since the 70’s, and that makes it even more special to me; not only do I get to experiment with a film camera, but this is the camera that took pictures of my older brother, sister, and me, as we were little children.  There’s so much history here, so many lovely memories, so many beautiful moments, seen by my parents, through the viewfinder of this camera.

Here’s the flickr pool of Canon GIII QL photos.

2 Responses to “canonet”


  1. 1 kimtori October 27, 2008 at 2:12 am

    That is a cool-looking camera. I take so many more photos now using digital than compared to when I only used a film camera. I also take a lot more bad photos, knowing if they don’t turn out I can simply delete them. Did you ever have a polaroid growing up? When we first got one, it was so exciting because you could actually see the picture develop… funny how things change.

  2. 2 lemoineau October 27, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Oh, yes! My parents have since gotten rid of it (I’ve been mourning for a bit now, because they didn’t ask if anyone wanted it, first!), but I grew up with a Polaroid. I loved it! It seemed like magic, watching the picture develop…and I just loved the texture of it, too, the slightly bumpy white frame.

    And I agree – whereas with this one, I’ll be trying to take all factors into consideration, getting it perfectly in focus, before snapping the photo; like you, I can just take photo after photo with the digital, sometimes haphazardly, because I know I can just push “delete.”

    my only issue with this camera is that I won’t know if I’m using it properly until after I’ve used and developed a whole roll! :P


Leave a Reply

RSS all a-twitter!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

older >>

on flickr

IMG_20141102_165333

Coming April 1st!

cherry tomato season is in full swing!

More Photos

